6 Youth Elected as National Junior Angus Association Board Members

6 Youth Elected as National Junior Angus Association Board Members

Six new Angus representatives take their place on the NJAA board of directors

Six new members will join six existing members on the National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors.

The new additions were elected by their peers last week at the National Junior Angus Show.  They are: are: Alex Rogen, S.D.; Katlyn Tunstill, Fayetteville, Ark.; Evan Woodbury, Quenemo, Kan.; Michael Cropp, Damascus, Md.; Jake Heimsoth, Cameron, Mo.; and Lauren Grimes, Hillsboro, Ohio.

Six new Angus representatives take their place on the NJAA board of directors

The newly elected directors were chosen by delegates representing each state at the 2014 NJAS in Indianapolis, Ind.  They will serve a two-year term and travel across the country to various events  promoting the Angus breed and helping young people succeed in the NJAA. The NJAA board members' first activity is the Leaders Engaged in Angus Development conference in Philadelphia, Pa., July 31- Aug. 3.

New members
Rogen has been involved in the Angus industry in a variety of ways as an NJAA member for the past 9 years. Rogen has been involved in the mentoring program at NJAS for the past 10 years, attended LEAD conferences, and has served as a voting delegate at NJAS. Rogen is a sophomore at the South Dakota State University where he is studying biology and plans on attending veterinary school.

Heimsoth has participated in ten consecutive NJAS and has also been involved in the Missouri Junior Angus Association serving as President and then Treasurer. Heimsoth recently completed his sophomore year at Butler Community College on the livestock judging team and is now attending Kansas State University studying animal sciences and industry.

Grimes's involvement in the Ohio Junior Angus Association has presented her with the opportunities to serve as president and treasurer. Grimes attends Ohio Northern University and working on receiving her degree to be a pharmacist.


Tunstill is a third-generation Angus breeder, who is studying agriculture communications as Oklahoma State University. Tunstill has served in Angus breed in a variety of capacities including being president of the Arkansas Junior Angus Association and serving as Miss Arkansas Angus.

Woodbury is currently attending Kansas State University pursing a degree in agricultural education with a minor in animal science. Since 2004, he has been a proud member of NJAS and has attended several LEAD conference through the years.

Cropp is currently vice president of the Maryland Angus Association and is attending Kansas State University. Cropp is majoring in agriculture with an emphasis on food and meat science. Cropp is a fifth generation farmer and has been a member of the NJAA since he was four years old. 

Also at the NJAS, second-year NJAA board members were elected to officer positions. Named as chairman was Cory Watt, Iva, S.C.; Vice Chairman, Shane Kerner, Weiser, Idaho; Communications Director, Tylee Jo Williams, Rio Vista, Texas Foundation Director, Will Fiske, Greenville, Va.; Leadership Director, Jessica Radcliffe, Weston, Wis.; and Membership Director, Lindsay Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.

New faces also mean six board members said their goodbyes to the NJAA. Those who ended their terms on the board are: Daniel McFarland, Keithville, La.; Lucas Nord, Wolverton, Minn.; Jena Wagner, Billings, Mont.; Jacy Alsup, Gravette, Ark.; Paige Wallace, Stotts City, Mo.; and Maggie Jasper, Versailles, Ky.

Source: NJAA

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.